The Lover’s Pictionary

As a personal exercise of sorts, I have taken to making quick little drawings of some of my favorite words from ‘The Lover’s Dictionary’ by David Levithan. Here are the first three, from the letter A.

abyss, n.

There are times when I doubt everything. When I regret everything you’ve taken from me, everything I’ve given to you, and the waste of all the time I’ve spent on us.

***

an excerpt from
anthem
, n.

It was our sixth (maybe seventh) date. I had cooked and you had insisted on doing the dishes. You wouldn’t even let me dry. Then, when you were done, smelling of suds, you sat back down and I poured you another glass of cheapish wine. You put your legs in my lap and slouched as if we’d just had a feast for thousands and you’d been the only chambermaid on duty to clean it up.

There was a pause. I was still scared by every gap in our conversation, fearing this was it, the point where we had nothing left to say. I was still trying to impress you, and I still wanted to be impressed by you, so I could pass along pieces of your impressiveness in stories to my friends, convincing myself this was possible.

“If you were a country,” I said, “what would your national athem be?”

I meant a pre-existing song — “What a Wonderful World” or “Que Sera, Sera” or something to make it a joke, like “Hey, Ya!” (“I would like, more than anything else, for my nation to be shaken like a Polaroid picture.”)

But instead you said, “It would have to be a blues song.” …

***

aloof, adj.

It has always been my habit, ever since junior high school, to ask that question:

“What are you thinking?”

It is always an act of desperation, and I keep on asking, even though I know it will never work the way I want it to.

***

I really like the book and it’s been rather therapeutic drawing from it. All drawings are acrylic on paper. More soon! If you want to keep track of my little project, the drawings are in  The Lover’s Pictionary album on my Flickr. : )

All excerpts are from The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan
Copyright © 2011 by David Levithan. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “The Lover’s Pictionary

Leave a comment

