summer shower

HELLO ALL. First of all, welcome to the awkward in-between state of this blog. I’m taking my time with figuring out the new design. Obviously! But anyway.

I am quite surprised and very thankful for how good 2013 is treating me so far. Let us count the ways.

I made this month’s YStyle logo

I thought they only published the interview online! Nahiya ako bigla haha.
But do check out my touristy face and the whole interview on the YStyle page.

Here is the original artwork in gouache and pencils.

I got carried away with the small details knowing they won’t register properly on newsprint.

I made another one mainly because I wanted to try out my new art supply treat: Derwent Ink Blocks! Here is a more colorful and season-appropriate logo, heh.

I therefore conclude that I love the ink blocks so very much! I like how vivid the colors dry out no matter how watered down they are. I also love the color accidents produced when layering colors.

I also have the spot for this week’s Ang INK Corner in Manila Bulletin. It’s a groggy froggy!

In other non-newspaper related news, I am also working on my first children’s book ever. It has me on my toes every time but I’m learning a lot along the way (mostly with time management and nap time control). It’s cliche and probably an understatement to say that it’s fun but I’m going to say it anyway. It’s fun! I would also like say that it’s fulfilling but that would be counting the chickens before the eggs hatch.

Other places I have been to besides the office and locked up in my room include Calatagan, Batangas. Studio Dialogo and Rubbertree had a little field trip to the Enrique Zobel Museum for its inauguration.

Roxas-De Ayala-Zobel family tree by Studio Dialogo

And the wooden cut-out map of Calatagan by Rubbertree

What a prolific man!

Merienda afterwards was at the beautiful Hacienda Bigaa. I love how the driveway was lined with neatly trimmed bougainvilla shrubs.

Obligatory bathroom shot because it was pretty. Also I wanted to show you that I am the kind of girl who refuses to listen to her body telling her she’s sick, and wears a turtleneck in summer just so she could go on the trip haha.

Also obligatory, picture of pretty food. Breakfast for dinner at Breakfast at Antonio’s on the way home. Smoked New Zealand King Chinook on whole wheat bread~

So there! That is where I have been. As for more adventures, I am leaving for Somewhere Very Far, Very Soon. A vacation, hooray! I’m not ready for it just yet so I don’t want to talk about it extensively haha. Right now I’m still anxious about organizing the work I may have to bring along but I am looking forward to the hour that the anxiety turns into excitement and utter joy.

Do you have any book and/or music recommendations for long trips and lots of waiting at airports? :)

4 thoughts on “summer shower

  1. super oks ba yung watercolor blocks? pumunta ako sa times trading last week and i was thinking of getting one kaso medyo priority ko muna ngayon ang acrylics. haha. balitaan mo ako hihi

    Like

Leave a comment

