Long distances

On other people’s photographs
It must be said that I actually do enjoy Instagram because generally I am a very visual person, and I like looking at photos. It’s one of the most convenient places on the internet where people purposefully makes all (well, almost) of their photos presentable and well-curated. We all prepare for our Instagram photos, in one way or another. La la la. Sometimes, when I can’t sleep at night but am too tired to get out of bed, I run through my Instagram feed until I doze off (and my phone falls on my face).

Here are some of my favorite people on Instagram!

1. Sabine Timm is a recent find, and she has the loveliest posts. Her photos mostly feature arrangements of color-coordinated found objects, which I find refreshing and just nice to stare at. Find more of her work on her Flickr.

2. I’ve been following Geninne on Blogspot for a while, and at one point in my life she became one of my life pegs haha. I’m happy she’s also on Instagram because aside from her art, her house and her dog and all her house plants look so beautiful, too. Her husband made their house and he also makes furniture and basically they are both awesome at what they do.

3. Studio Arhoj is a ceramic studio (among other things) in Copenhagen. They’re one of the first ceramic groups that I started following when I first got interested in ceramics and pottery. I love how they glaze their work, it’s so fun. Also, they post some of their studio mishaps and I like that, because I am the kind of person who secretly finds it noble when people post about their mistakes, and the lessons that they learn, on the amazonian jungle which is the internet.

4. Jem Magbanua is an illustrator based in Singapore. I love her artworks! She doesn’t post frequently but when she does it’s always lovely. You can also see her work on her website.

5. I first found out about Louise Fili from reading Jessica Hische’s profile, because Jessica had previously worked at Louise Fili Ltd. That must have been such a thrill, to be young and in love with letters, and have such a great mentor to work with. Louise’s posts are consistently typographic in nature: street signage, restaurant lights, subway tiles, and other found letterforms.

6. JR is a street artist and I’m not sure how to introduce him properly, so please watch his TED talk instead, and then you will see why I admire him. I saw a photo of one of his works hanging in the lobby of the hotel we stayed at in Phnom Penh a few years ago. I thought it was visually moving but I didn’t know what it was and what it stood for, or that it was actually set in Cambodia. Well now I know~

This list was inspired by Yuko Shimizu’s blog post 15 influences that stick with you, FOREVER. I tried to come up with my own list, but I figured that  I haven’t been around long yet to say that my influences have stuck with me, especially now that I’m in a phase where I’m trying a lot of different things all at the same time and just playing around. I made a shortlist anyway, of the people who I’ve admired for a significant period of time already, even up to now. My list includes Candy Chang for design (I drew a lot of inspiration from her works and her methods while I was doing my college thesis), Brecht Evens for art and illustration (whose works had such an impact on me that I really strived to teach myself how to use watercolors), and Jean-Pierre Jeunet and his wonderful films.

On staying home
Because being a girl means having hurty feelings sometimes, and because deadlines need to be beaten without losing sleep, I’ve just been at home for the past couple of days. I am pleased to report that I have indeed been productive, so far. The quietness has also been very nice, and all the girly pains aside, I’ve been rather content with the arrangement.

Last night, after cleaning my room, I came upon my extra clay from my past pottery classes. Although I’ve kept them in plastic bags, they still hardened up over the months. I’ve had them for some time now and last night I finally decided to push through with learning how to recycle them. It took a lot of time and energy because I had to hammer the big chunks down to little pieces first before I could rehydrate the clay; my right hand wrist really hurt afterwards. But it worked and my clay is usable again! Thank you, Google, for being such a beacon of knowledge and empowerment.

Before calling it a night (which turned out to be really late because I couldn’t sleep), I had managed to make a mug and a pendant.

It’s the size of a soup bowl right now but ceramic pieces really do shrink considerably when they get fired, and I’m hoping this’ll end up the right size when it’s finished. It’s also my first time to use the coil technique (again, thank you to the internet for the free walkthrough). I hope this piece pulls through! Because I really like it.

And here is the pendant. It’s about the height of the palm of my hand.

I have been working on some cake topper studies also, and tonight I made a prototype of one of my ideas. Behold.

“Oh hey guys! I made a study prototype of a cake topper…”

“..you know, for cakes to celebrate wilted love, uncertain futures, and break-ups of all kinds.”

It didn’t occur to me at all that my plan needed armature to work. I’m still figuring out how to go about it because although I can use air dry clay which dries much sturdier, I really like how white and kind of translucent polymer clay is.

Here is another attempt on a variation of the same topper idea.

Let’s see how things work out!

In other cake news, The Chocolate Kiss Cake Shop is now open! Drop by for some dayap cake and brownies at The Courtyard Building, Sgt. Esguerra, QC.

Aaand back to regular programming! I need to figure out that cake topper…

P.S.
Happy birthday, Tove Jansson!

Leave a comment

