Alright, alright, alright

Who do we have here but April? Hello from the end-half of a long weekend.

revised-FOR_WEB-A_HA2-cover

I had the surprising honor of making the cover for A-HA! Learning Center‘s third zine! And I say surprising because I had seen Jaton’s message super late, but took the chance to volunteer anyway. All the stories had been assigned already but I’m happy I was able to contribute, still, by making the cover.

A-HA! has a writing club to teach their students English, and help them improve their skills by having them write essays and stories. Last month, A-HA! surprised their students and released a special edition of their zine with the kids’ stories interpreted by 16 illustrators.

Download the whole zine here, and check out A-HA!’s Facebook page, too.

+++

Frances_Alvarez-Woodsong-WEB-peek

Here is a peek of my work for Light Grey Art Lab’s “Guts” exhibit which opens in a few weeks (April 17) in Minneapolis. I wish I could teleport to see the exhibit for myself, but hey if you’re in the area by some chance, do drop by.

My piece is inspired by vintage educational posters, and violins!

NBNH-woodsong-3NBNH-woodsong-4

+++

NBNH-woodsong-5

In other news, a couple of my new favorite things that are both purple, coincidentally.

So far, this weekend has been rather productive! I finished a painting, and two books (This One Summer, and The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro on audiobook, which I highly recommend because the narration is very good), washed all my sneakers, and gave the cat a bath, all before Saturday night! Sunday night I spent catching up on a couple more deadlines. Save for a few more revisions and things, I think I may be deadline-free for a while! Until something comes up again, yes, but the prospect of 8 hours of sleep during weekdays makes me happy and glad.

+++

luna-what-could-you-do-with-100-days-lighter

OK! Here is one more shot at being committed to making something everyday. I’m still thinking of what exactly to do for this, considering all things realistic and practical. It makes me nervous because 100 days is kind of a long time and I don’t want to disappoint myself if I quit in the middle of things, but I am also curious if I can pull it off this time around. I figured this also might be an effective way to distract me from all the storms in my head.

Join me if you want! Let’s go!

+++

11051939_795149777227393_8748642967601305308_n

And lastly, here we are again. Save the date!

Speculiars and Ang Ilustrador ng Kabataan will be there. Speculiars will also be hosting a little craft-y side event during the fair, wait for it! As for myself, I’m still planning for the new things I’ll be selling, but I’m pretty excited to shop already.

Leave a comment

