next chapters

 

knit-Frances_Alvarez

Life goes on.

I can say that things are back to normal programming as they were last July before I left, only they are not! The past months have taught me how to see things in a different light. Even though I am back home, back at the usual daily grind, it feels as if I am starting anew. I guess it really is healthy to take a break, step back, and look at things from a different perspective for some time, even if it is just for a little while. My head is a much quieter place now and the days seem sunnier than they probably really are. It also feels so good to unplug from social media and go offline for prolonged periods of time. Y’all should try it, it’s a great kindness to the mind.

Last week, a friend asked me about the biggest personal change that last year’s adventure brought about. I have been thinking about it, and I think the answer is that I feel more quietly content now, in the sense that I care considerably less about certain things like gossip/other people’s personal lives that aren’t my business, impressing everyone all the time (fellow illustrators, friends, family. It’s so stressful, and what is the point, really?), and people’s opinions of me and my work. There are so much more important things to do and think about. I figured I really don’t want to spend the rest of my youth and energy on trivial things. Is this easy to do? Not at all. But this is general cleaning, and it has to be done, and I have to take care of myself.

I’ve been home for a couple of weeks now, and I hit the ground running when I got back. Miraculously, I’ve successfully restarted my sleep cycle at exactly the right time, and I have had next to zero jet lag episodes since I landed. So far, the days have been this strange mix of events and emotions and, well, hours of endless city traffic.

As for work:
A) I am still in touch with the Cornell Lab of O, helping with the production of the picture book I illustrated during the past months’ internship.

B) Back at Studio Dialogo, in time for annual report season, with all the jokes, snacks, and fun times in between.

C) Fun freelance work for which I am truly grateful for. Here’s a peek of one of the projects I’m currently working on. Machuca tiles and indigenous patterns are so enjoyable to draw! I really like drawing tiny detailed repetitive elements.

NBNH-febwip-2

In other news, I am hoping to earn extra during the next few months so I can afford to go to this year’s Asian Festival for Children’s Content in Singapore. The conference and workshops seem very interesting, and I am curious to see what goes on during the AFCC. Leaving this right here, maybe the universe is listening…

Leave a comment

