Hide and seek

I turned one of last year’s personal projects into a zine.

100dpz.jpg

Ladies in Jeepneys is an illustrated zine featuring the different women, girls, females that I encounter everyday during my commute. I am very much inspired by how women carry themselves in the haggard environment of reckless jeepneys and Manila chaos. It’s part homage, part diary, part documentation.

Ladies in Jeepneys, volume 1 will debut in all its full-color glory this coming Saturday, August 6, at the Komikon Indieket. It’s going to be at the Bayanihan Center along Pioneer St. in Kapitolyo, Pasig. I’ll be with my amazing friend Yas Doctor who’s also launching her Sari-Sari Project zine. See you at table P07!


IN OTHER NEWS, amidst all the CRAZIES the Philippines is going through,  I’ve meant so much to write about the past AFCC, to no avail because I’m still catching up on deadlines! I’m currently working on a picture book, my Ang INK 25th anniv show artwork, a couple other freelance illustration  projects, and my day job! It’s crazy and very challenging. Some days are great, some frustrating, but ultimately I couldn’t be any more grateful that I can draw and design everyday.

And so we grind on~ See you around, friends!

Leave a comment

