Hobonichi Techo 2017

nbnh-2017-15_zpsq5qwobna

I got myself a Hobonichi for Christmas! I’ve heard very good things about the paper (Tomoe River), and also I’m a sucker for well-designed objects. I got it from their official online store, and I received the parcel a couple of weeks after through EMS.

nbnh-2017-16_zps2gj9al92What’s in the box. Okay, sorry for the dramatic lighting of all the photos haha. It was that time of day and I couldn’t get any more light in the room.

nbnh-2017-17_zpsgwfl81agBefore anything else, this cute flyer also came with the package. It’s an ad for a social media app for pets, I think?

nbnh-2017-18_zps20ftavstThe planner is paperback, with weeks starting on Mondays, and in A6 size that is perfect for my small drawings and handwriting, heh.

nbnh-2017-19_zpsoqhsawit
nbnh-2017-20_zps8wg5vokwhashtag attention to small details

The first pages feature months in different formats, providing ample amount of space for everything you may possibly need and want to do this 2017.

nbnh-2017-21_zpswouzqflinbnh-2017-22_zpsi16tvkk2
nbnh-2017-23_zpsm0tnsgfg

nbnh-2017-24_zpsflx0hlloThe bulk of the planner features the daily pages, with weekends in red ink. There are also tabs printed on the side of the pages to mark each month. Pretty nifty.

nbnh-2017-25_zpshtcopktwThe back pages have a few sheets of dot grid…

nbnh-2017-26_zpsyontn8wu…and a few more with illustrated guides to Japanese culture.

nbnh-2017-42_zpswqoihzvoThere are quotes on the bottom of each spread. Some are about art and film, some are poems.

nbnh-2017-43_zpsz9osinvfIt spreads out flat but doesn’t crack the spine!

I bought mine a little late already and most of the covers were out of stock. I got this pretty knit cover by Tricote. SO NICE. I think I would’ve gotten this, still, even if the others were in stock, heh.

nbnh-2017-27_zpsgf8uoys1
nbnh-2017-271_zpsqlancqmk
nbnh-2017-28_zpsfodw6os5
nbnh-2017-29_zpsd3efhdqe
nbnh-2017-272_zpsjenyl5w6
nbnh-2017-30_zpsvguvh59w
nbnh-2017-31_zpstbbw0hjd
How it looks like with the planner. You can hang your pen on the side.

nbnh-2017-38_zpsgxtdss9v
I love the tassel bookmark, too!

I got the plastic cover to wrap over this, but apparently it doesn’t fit on this knit one because of the size of pen holder. A lot of the other covers have the pen holder set lower.

Aside from notebooks and covers, the Hobonichi store also carries stationery, cutting supplies, and other novelty items to complement the planners. I got an OLFA top sheet cutter (over the perforating knife, which I also had my eyes on). The best utility knife I own is an OLFA, and I really like how it fits perfectly in my hand.

nbnh-2017-32_zpsjr7i4kxg
nbnh-2017-33_zpsnqoc3onj
nbnh-2017-34_zps3fcc07eoYou can slide the blade to control how deep you want to cut into your paper. I can use this to cut out stuff from magazines without damaging the parts underneath the page. It’s small, too, and fits just right in the average pencil case.

nbnh-2017-35_zpsxgwsqbzzAnd lastly, this wonderful pack came as a freebie! A uni multi pen (black, blue, red), and a plastic buttered toast plate WHAT.

nbnh-2017-37_zps81sho3f8I love this so much haha.

nbnh-2017-39_zpste0rkn20
nbnh-2017-40_zpsrl8rimoh
nbnh-2017-41_zpsdejajw5v

Some pages I’ve filled already. I use Pitt pens and a sign pen. I heard the paper holds watercolor well, but I have yet to try it. The ink does show on the other side of the page, but it doesn’t bleed over. This doesn’t bother me, though. When you write or paint on the other side, the marks get covered up, so that’s fine.

Overall, I am happy with my planner. Here are some pros and cons that might help if you’re interested in getting one, too.

Pros: Well-designed and no-nonsense. You can spread the pages flat without doing damage to the book. Good selection of covers. I really like the paper, I can use this both as a daily sketchbook and a planner. Some find it small, but I like the size just fine because my handwriting and drawings are tiny anyway. Lightweight, very portable.

Cons: It’s on the pricier side of planners. The size is a downside to others; they get the other planner variations on the store instead. I have to wrap my planner in something before I throw it in my bag so the cover doesn’t get dirty way too soon, and so nothing snags on the knitting.

There. *bow*

1 thought on “Hobonichi Techo 2017”

Leave a comment

