tout doucement

means “slowly” in French.

The Sunday Currently, and well, My Life Currently may be described in a bunch of gifs from the film Mood Indigo (dir. Gondry).

b9edec7e9c0cfd37bf96aacb30738374

53d52913af13b9c10f1aebb9a3d11057

mixed emotions, long bouts of sleep

I have been in an adjustment-transition-acceptance period these past couple of months (and counting). It is unfortunate that my rather unpleasant disposition has affected the people around me AND work, and I am trying  hard to make things right and not wear This Heavy Thing on my sleeve. If anything, I am learning how to be aware of my environment and not let it consume me, and to consciously make decisions to be a better person, especially now my enemy has a name and we have been properly introduced.

On this note, I will take this moment to encourage you all to keep yourselves properly hydrated, fed with enough vegetables, and exposed to healthy early-morning sunshine, for the benefit of your minds and bodies. These may not be entirely cures to illnesses, but they do help with powering through things, trust me.

If your work is also your hobby, like how drawing and design are mine, make time to take some time off. Working too late into the night and losing too much sleep is apparently now a carcinogen, according the WHO (just sharing trivia, no I do not have cancer). This feels indulgent advice to give out knowing of the list of deadlines that I myself have, but, say it with me, health is wealth.

tumblr_nf421t35oh1qzxeqqo2_r1_500

Everyday I am grateful that, well, I actually made it through the day before. That my shaky hands find others’ to hold and/or high-five, friends who understand, or who don’t but are constantly there for me anyway, a humble home with everything I need: family, home-cooked meals, a clean bed, and pets that are always crazy happy to see me come home every night (except maybe the cat but I know deep inside he loves me).

Slowly I am seeing that I am on this cute but wonky boat, and not an expedition ship like how my younger self might have envisioned older me to be on. In any case, I must learn to row and navigate, and sing a little (OR A LOT) while I’m at it.

One thought on “tout doucement

Leave a comment

